The news is by your side.

18 polling centres torched across country


DE Online Desk
At least 18 polling centres and one election camp were set on fire by miscreants in Gazipur, Patuakhali, Sunamganj, Satkhira, Mymensingh, Sherpur, Habiganj, Chattogram, Shariatpur, Moulvibazar, Barguna and Natrakona districts ahead of Sunday’s national election.
2 polling centres, 1 school torched in Gazipur
Purba Chandana Government Primary School, TNT Government Primary School and Bashthali Government Primary School were set to fire in the early hours of Saturday night.
Confirming the matter to The Business Post, Inspector (Investigation) Rafiqul Islam of Gazipur Metropolitan Police said that miscreants set Purba Chandana Government Primary School polling station in Ward 17 and TNT Government Primary School in Ward 18 at around 2am and 3:30am consecutively.
He added that TNT Govt Primary School was a polling centre during the last city corporation election but not one this time.
Meanwhile, Bashthali Government Primary School, a polling station in Mouchaak union of Kaliakair upazila, was torched by unidentified miscreants. All the goods inside the office room were burnt to ashes.
Kaliakair Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) and Returning Officer in the election, Hossain Mohammed Hye Joki confirmed the matter and said that police and fire service personnel have been sent to the scene. The matter will be investigated and legal action will be taken.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.