The news is by your side.

AL clinches landslide victory


DE Online Report
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is set to retain her title as the world’s longest-serving female head of government after her party won 222 seats in the 12th Parliamentary election boycotted by the main opposition party BNP. The election was held on Sunday. Sheikh Hasina has secured a fourth consecutive term in office, according to the country’s electoral commission.
Bangladesh, home to 170 million people, is the first country in South Asia this year to head to the polls. But turnout was low, with 41.8 percent of approximately 120 million eligible voters taking part, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal said at a polling briefing on Monday.
Sheikh Hasina, in power since 2009, cast her vote in Dhaka City College centre, and her win marks a fifth overall victory for her Awami League-led alliance.
The election commission so far announced unofficially the results of 298 parliamentary seats out of the 300 where election was held in a free and fair manner.
According to the unofficial result the AL bagged 222 seats alone while Jatiya Party secured 11 seats. Independent candidates secured second highest 62 seats and JSD, Bangladesh Kalyan Party and Bangladesh Workers’ Party got one seat each.
Voting in Naogaon-2 constituency was postponed due to death of an independent candidate earlier. EC will announce the result of Mymensingh-3 constituency later as the polling on one centre was suspended.
Jatiya Party secured 11 seats with “plough” symbol and independent candidates got 62 seats.
Foreign observers and independent polls monitoring groups said the election was held in a free, fair and peaceful manner, maintaining the world standard.
Sheikh Hasina is looking forward to run the country for the 4th consecutive terms banking on her dynamic leadership and global image.
Earlier, braving the chilly weather polling went on peacefully across the country as nearly several lakh law enforcement personnel kept a sharp vigil on the situation.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.